Pragmatic Spirituality

pragmatic_spirituality.png

Join us from 10:00 – 11:15 a.m. in the AJ Benovitz Library for Pragmatic Spirituality on the dates listed below:

This month's topics:

  • April 14th - "Mirror Neurons - The Neurobiology of Empathy and How We Inspire One Another"
  • April 28th - "Silence & Laughter - The Glue of Friendship"

Upcoming Dates:

  • May 5th
  • May 19th

Pragmatic Spirituality is an open discussion group that has been meeting twice a month since August 2017.  We welcome you to attend and participate or listen quietly. The seed of the discussions is a brief inspiration (a poem, reading, quote, song, video or blogpost) by a spiritual thinker e.g. Jonathan Sacks, Tosha Silver, John O’Donohue,  Parker Palmer, Leonard Cohen, Rumi, Mary Oliver, and others who encourage inner dialogue and listening to one’s “inner teacher.”

Woven throughout are examples of the Jewish perspective on attention to the soul, as well as how this inner work impacts our outer work – i.e. our jobs, relationships, communities, etc.  We address how we find purpose and meaning, how we navigate practical challenges in our daily lives, and how we mitigate stressors in this modern time.

The intention is to foster a community that supports applying spiritual thinking to daily life. This is not intended to be a substitute for Torah study, Jewish education, Melton or a traditional worship service, but rather a complementary opening for those seeking additional ways to connect   Judaism, their soul, and their daily lives.

The group is facilitated by Courtney Snyder, MD (Holistic Psychiatrist) and Marty Snyder (Business & Leadership Advisor). 

For more information contact:

Date and Time: 
Repeats every 2 weeks 1 times. Also includes Sun Sep 16 2018, Sun Sep 30 2018, Sun Oct 14 2018, Sun Oct 21 2018, Sun Nov 04 2018, Sun Nov 11 2018, Sun Dec 02 2018, Sun Dec 09 2018, Sun Jan 06 2019, Sun Jan 20 2019, Sun Feb 03 2019, Sun Feb 10 2019, Sun Mar 10 2019, Sun Mar 24 2019, Sun Apr 14 2019, Sun Apr 28 2019, Sun May 05 2019, Sun May 19 2019, Sun Jun 02 2019, Sun Jun 23 2019.
Sunday, August 12, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, December 9, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, January 6, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, January 20, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, June 2, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, June 23, 2019 - 10:00am
Display on front page rotator?: